He fills the longing soul with good things. Ps. 107:9

.

.

Conner Prairie & Kirk's Crossing

June 28, 2014

We have been wanting to visit Conner Prairie again.  It was Kayla's summer-fun choice.  This time we went straight to the old prairie village.  The kids spun a wheel on a cart to get their jobs.  They had several assignments on a card.  Once the assignments were completed, they officially received their titles.  


Caiden was a Hunter.  He had to make plans to purchase a gun, talk to local hunters, research how to make or purchase animal traps, etc.
Who even knows what this clown was doing...Oh I remember! He thought the wheel sounded like a motorbike.  So he had to demonstrate.  : )  Never a dull moment with this boy.
Karissa was a scholar.  She had to do things like talk to the townsfolk about their education, find out about the schooling, etc.

Corin was a Craftsman.  He had to measure a pound of nails, etc.


Kayla was a naturalist.  She had to draw a picture of a plant or animal, identify 3 bird calls, 3 wild plants and 3 cultivated plants.

Kayla and Corin were research buddies.  They took off exploring on their own and Kayla helped Corin to fulfill the assignments on his card.


We spent a lot of time in the general store.  We had a lot of assignments that were fulfilled there and the storekeeper's son was a great help (and a great actor!)




Caiden asked for and got a job sweeping floors for the Doctor.  He earned a 1/2 cent.  So we promptly booked it back to the general store to SPEND that half cent!  Caiden bought 2 muddies (handmade marbles).  The storekeeper's son taught him how to play the muddies game.



One of my favorite stops was the Inn.  They had a marvelous innkeeper who was out working in her herb garden.  She spent a lot of time with us, showing us around her garden and letting us pinch and smell the various herbs.  Our favorite was lemon mint.  It was scrumptious.  We ate sweet, ripe mulberries right off the tree.  The kids helped her do the weeding.  And we talked about bleaching whites in the sun.  She taught me that if you lay your linens on the grass in the sun (instead of just hanging them on the line) there is a reaction with the grass and the sun that causes things to get extra white.  Awesome new tip.  I have a ton of white laundry.








Grandma Fry picked off a stalk of rhubarb and ate it raw!  A memory from her childhood.  Yikes!  I can hardly even eat the stuff with sugar in a pie - much less a raw stalk!



After the kids had completed their assignments, turned in their cards, received there celebratory sticker and spent their hard-earned 1/2 cents, we moved on.  Most of the group went to the air conditioned museum.  A few of us went to the Civil War historic area.

An old historic house was taken over by the soldiers as a temporary base



There were cool interactive touch-screen computers built into the "antique" table.  The kids could explore the areas of Indiana that were affected during the Civil War.



Exploring the interactive computer maps....





While mommy captured the late afternoon light.....



The boys were recruited.  The guns were as big as them, but they learned to march and turn.  Corin was hilarious.  Every time the group turned one way or the other, he was half a turn behind, craning his neck to see what in the world he was supposed to be doing.  With his big, blue bewildered eyes....








The indoor pay museum just re-opened after being redesigned





It was time for the adults to chill while the kids played in the air conditioning


It's Blurry - but I was lucky to get this one!

His "I'm-really-tired-but-I-don't-want-to-leave" face


Next - we stopped by Kirkland on the way home to visit "Kirk's Crossing" - a small town festival.  We poked around in some antique shops, bought $1 lemonades, participated in the cake auction (bought garden green beans and homemade apple fritters), jumped in the bouncy castles, ate corn on the cob and chili fries.



Grandma Fry didn't need a wheelchair. : )  We had it to give Karissa's foot a break throughout the day.  She had a huge stack of drywall fall on her foot at the new house and she is very sore.

The big event of the evening was the horse pull.  It was very interesting.  For the first hour.  It was very long.  Next time I want to go for the last 15 minutes. : )








 It was a very very happy summer day - Well spent.





SHARE:

5 comments

Pamela said...

I love all your pictures -- such memories recorded with your camera. It was nice Grandma got to enjoy it with you, too. ~Pamela

Guo Guo said...

thomas sabo
puma sneakers
burberry outlet
prada outlet
insanity
air jordan 11
coach factory outlet
louis vuitton outlet
michael kors outlet online
burberry outlet online
michael kors outlet online
air jordan 11
pandora
kate spade factoryoutlet
cheap ray ban sunglasses
michael kors outlet
ferragamo shoes
cheap oakley sunglasses
coach purses
kate spade handbags
timberland shoes
louis vuitton
nike air max uk
michael kors handbags
true religion jeans
true religion jeans
coach factor youtlet
chanel outlet
discount oakley sunglasses
hollister clothing
cheap ray ban sunglasses
ed hardy clothing
swarovski crystal
timberland boots
chanel outlet online
michael kors canada
michael kors handbags
louis vuitton handbags
asics running shoes
monster beats
yao0407

kate spade outlet said...

Kate Spade Outlet Toms Shoes Hermes Belt UGG Boots UGG Boots Outlet Louis Vuitton Outlet Louis Vuitton Outlet Online North Face Outlet Store North Face Store The North Face Outlet Louis Vuitton Factory Outlet Louis Vuittons Handbags Louis Vuittons Outlet Online Timberland Boots Cheap Timberland Boots Timberland Outlet Tory Burch Outlet Store Tory Burch Outlet Online Tory Burch Outlet North Face Outlet Store Canada Goose Jackets Canada Goose Outlet Oakley Outlet
Michael Kors Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet Gucci Factory Outlet Gucci Outlet Gucci Handbags Cheap Ray Ban Sunglasses North Face Outlet Store The North Face Jackets Prada Outlet Polo Ralph Lauren Burberry Outlet Hollister Clothing Ferragamo Shoes Tiffany Jewelry Tiffany Outlet NFL Jerseys

Cran Jane said...

Michael Kors Outlet Coach Factory Outlet Coach Outlet Online Coach Purses Kate Spade Outlet Toms Shoes North Face Outlet Coach Outlet North Face Jackets Oakley Sunglasses Toms Outlet North Face Outlet Nike Outlet Nike Hoodies Tory Burch Flats Marc Jacobs Handbags Jimmy Choo Shoes Jimmy Choos True Religion Outlet ED Hardy Outlet
Burberry Belt Tory Burch Boots Louis Vuitton Belt Ferragamo Belt Marc Jacobs Handbags Lululemon Outlet Christian Louboutin Shoes True Religion Outlet Tommy Hilfiger Outlet
Michael Kors Outlet Coach Outlet Red Bottoms Kevin Durant Shoes New Balance Outlet Adidas Outlet Coach Outlet Online Stephen Curry Jersey Vans Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

Link Within..

Related Posts with Thumbnails
Blogger Template Created by pipdig